Aktuelle Mitgliederanzahl:

277

 
Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)
History

Research Association on Microbiological Therapy - AMT e.V.

In 1953, practising doctor Dr. Hans Kolb, gynaecologist Dr. Hans Peter Rusch, university professor and paediatrician Prof. Dr. Helmut Mommsen and Dr. Arthur Becker founded the Association with the aim of bringing microbiological therapy closer to a wider scope of fellow doctors. Their experiences with this concept of treatment, namely the integration of probiotics into individual treatment plans as an element to aid recovery, was based on both the work of their famous predecessors (Louis Pasteur, Robert Koch, Elias Metchnikoff, Edward Wright) and on their own observations in day-to-day medicine.

Research Association on Microbiological Therapy - AMT e.V.

In 1953, practising doctor Dr. Hans Kolb, gynaecologist Dr. Hans Peter Rusch, university professor and paediatrician Prof. Dr. Helmut Mommsen and Dr. Arthur Becker founded the Association with the aim of bringing microbiological therapy closer to a wider scope of fellow doctors. Their experiences with this concept of treatment, namely the integration of probiotics into individual treatment plans as an element to aid recovery, was based on both the work of their famous predecessors (Louis Pasteur, Robert Koch, Elias Metchnikoff, Edward Wright) and on their own observations in day-to-day medicine.

Under working conditions which would barely be acceptable nowadays, the fathers of microbiological therapy experimented with various microbes and methods in a manner that had never been seen before. The very fact that microorganisms are now not regarded only as enemies needing to be fought, but rather recognised primarily for their healing properties, is perhaps their greatest achievement. They carried out the experiments needed for this knowledge predominantly independently and with simple apparatuses and of course, they were not spared from succumbing to the odd failure. But more than that, they presented their findings to their colleagues in black and white, and were frequently rebuffed. But the constant success and compelling logic of their theories finally led to a wide acceptance of this healing method within the industry and with patients. The sociological changes within society and the loud calls for evidence-based medicine led, in the 1970s, to natural medical treatment, and therefore microbiological therapy, being put on the back burner. However, since the 1990s, the treatment has enjoyed a steady rise in popularity from doctors, alternative practitioners and consumers alike. The reasons for this change were both a change in the perception of health by the general public and increased activity by the AMT.

Both the experiences in the handling of microbiological therapy and the latest research results in this important subject are imparted to alternative practitioners and patients at some 200 annual presentation events all over Germany. The Association is also involved in further educational events on the theme of natural medicine which are held by medical associations and takes part in the so-called quality circles carried out regionally by groups of doctors, by giving presentations. In regularly published patient magazines, experienced doctors report on the possibilities of applying microbiological therapy in their areas of speciality. The AMT promotes and supports cooperation both with centres of medicine focussing on further education as well as with other associations in the area of complementary alternative medicine.

Today the group has around 260 active members comprising doctors, dentists, pharmacists (with voting power) and supporting members. In 2005, membership in the Association was extended to Austrian colleagues. Close cooperation exists there with the Gesellschaft für Homotoxikologie [Homotoxicology Association]. Similar endeavours can be seen in Italy, Spain and Latin America.

There is also an opportunity for you to become an active or supporting member of the AMT to help spread the idea of microbiological therapy even further.

Benefits of an AMT membership (click here)

Membership application (click here)

Dr. R. Schmidt – Chairperson

 
© 2017 AMT e.V. | Impressum | Kontakt | Admin

Aktuelle Mitgliederanzahl:

277

 
Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)
Geschichte

Arbeitskreis für Mikrobiologische Therapie - AMT e.V.

1953 gründeten der praktische Arzt Dr. Hans Kolb, der Gynäkologe Dr. Hans Peter Rusch, der Hochschullehrer und Pädiater Prof. Dr. Helmut Mommsen und Dr. Arthur Becker den Arbeitskreis mit der Zielsetzung, die Mikrobiologische Therapie einer breiteren Kollegenschaft näher zu bringen. Ihre Erfahrungen mit diesem Therapiekonzept, nämlich Probiotika als ein heilungsförderndes Element in einen individuellen Behandlungsplan einzubinden, basierten einerseits auf den Arbeiten ihrer berühmten Vorgänger (Louis Pasteur, Robert Koch, Elias Metchnikoff, Edward Wright) und andererseits auf den eigenen Beobachtungen in der täglichen Praxis.

Unter heute kaum noch akzeptierbaren Arbeitsbedingungen experimentierten die Väter der Mikrobiologischen Therapie mit unterschiedlichen Mikroben und Verfahrensweisen auf eine bis dahin ungewohnte Art und Weise. Allein der Umstand, dass sie Mikroorganismen nicht ausschließlich als bekämpfenswerte Feinde betrachteten, sondern in ihnen vor allem gesundheitsfördernde Elemente erkannten, ist wohl ihr größter Verdienst. Die dieser Erkenntnis zwingend folgenden Experimente führten sie überwiegend selbständig, mit einfachen Apparaturen durch und natürlich blieben ihnen Misserfolge nicht erspart. Doch damit nicht genug, stellten sie ihre Ergebnisse in Wort und Papier einer kritischen Kollegenschaft vor und nicht selten wurde ihnen eine Abfuhr erteilt. Die nicht ausbleibenden therapeutischen Erfolge und die zwingende Logik ihrer theoretischen Überlegungen führten letztendlich doch zu einer breiteren Akzeptanz dieses Heilverfahrens innerhalb der Kollegenschaft und bei den Patienten. Die soziologischen Veränderungen innerhalb der Gesellschaft aber auch die immer lauter werdende Forderung nach evidenzbasierter Medizin führten in den 1970er Jahren insgesamt zu einem Rückgang der Naturheilverfahren, so auch der Mikrobiologischen Therapie. Seit den 1990er Jahren erlebt die sie jedoch wieder eine stetig wachsende Aufmerksamkeit von Ärzten, Heilpraktikern und Verbrauchern. Ein verändertes Gesundheitsbewußtsein der Bevölkerung aber auch eine verstärkte Aktivität des AMT sind als Gründe für diesen Wandel zu nennen.

Auf jährlich etwa 200 Vortragsveranstaltungen für Heilberufler und Patienten werden bundesweit nicht nur die Erfahrungen im Umgang mit der Mikrobiologischen Therapie sondern auch aktuelle Forschungsergebnisse zu diesem wichtigen Thema vermittelt. Der Verein ist zudem eingebunden in Weiterbildungsveranstaltungen der Ärztekammern für den Bereich Naturheilverfahren und beteiligt sich mit Vorträgen bei den so genannten Qualitätszirkeln, die regional von Ärztegruppierungen durchgeführt werden. In regelmäßig erscheinenden Patientenzeitschriften berichten erfahrene Ärzte über Anwendungsmöglichkeiten der Mikrobiologischen Therapie in ihren Fachgebieten. Der AMT fördert und unterstützt die Zusammenarbeit sowohl mit Zentren der hochschulorientierten Medizin als auch mit anderen Gesellschaften der komplementären Heilverfahren.

Heute zählt der Verein etwa 260 aktive Mitglieder, bestehend aus Ärzten, Zahnärzten, Apothekern (stimmberechtigt) und Fördermitgliedern. 2005 wurde die Mitgliedschaft im Verein für österreichische Kolleginnen und Kollegen ermöglicht. Dort besteht eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit der Gesellschaft für Homotoxikologie. Ähnliche Bestrebungen sind in Italien, Spanien und Lateinamerika zu verzeichnen.

Auch für Sie besteht die Möglichkeit, aktives oder Fördermitglied im AMT zu werden, um den Gedanken der Mikrobiologischen Therapie weiter verbreiten zu helfen.

Dr. R. Schmidt 1. Vorsitzender

 
© 2017 AMT e.V. | Impressum | Kontakt | Admin