Aktuelle Mitgliederanzahl:

277

 
Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)
Environmental medicine

Definition of environmental medicine:

 

Environmental medicine incorporates the medical care of individuals with health disorders or noticeable examination findings which are related, either by definition or in the opinion of a doctor, to environmental factors.

With the problem of ever-increasing industrialisation and the exposure of various types of toxic substances to the environment which accompanies it, the human body is exposed, day in and day out, to the presence of foreign bodies. Water, soil, air and food all belong to these harmful substances as much as medicines, dental alloys or personal and household care products.

As a consequence of this, issues related to environmental medicine and environmental hygiene always come under the spotlight of scientific interests, but it is also laymen and the general public who are getting involved as awareness in the area of scientific work leads to different toxic substances being held responsible for triggering or sustaining certain diseases. For example, PCP as a carcinogen; lindane, dichlofluanid and nerve damage; antibiotic-induced gut inflammation; stomach problems due to rheumatism medication; exposure to lead and kidney damage; exposure to copper and cirrhosis of the liver in infants; smoking and lung cancer; asbestos and lung cancer; nickel allergies; chlorine causing acne. The increase in allergic disorders over the last few years has been frightening. According to investigations in Baden-Wuerttemberg, 5% of all children here suffer from atopic syndromes or neurodermatitis. Materials that are examined are blood, urine, stools, breast milk, cord blood, breath or samples from organs or fatty tissue.

Acute exposure is best seen in the blood or urine (from a matter of hours to weeks, e.g. with mercury), and examinations of the bones and fatty tissue mirror long-term exposure, such as to lead and cadmium.

The skin and the mucosae in the gastro-intestinal tract and the lungs act as pathways for exposure to harmful substances.

Here, the percentage distribution through the huge surface area of the gut turns out to be to the disadvantage of the skin and lungs. The resorption surface of almost 400 m2 makes it possible for a huge amount of harmful substances to be absorbed and channelled into the body. This is where our diet plays an increasingly important role. Diagnosis and treatment must therefore encompass immune system activity, the normal bacterial composition of the gut and the corresponding measures. Microbiological therapy is the best option in this respect.

Fruit and vegetables are often exposed to endogenous toxins and pesticides. The level of lactobacilli in the large intestine is a deciding factor for the elimination of cancer-causing substances in the urine. With foods that have been exposed to pesticides, conserved and preserved food products can disrupt, damage or even destroy the biological balance and the physiological bacterial cultures.

It is not only at a macro level that a human being can damage this equilibrium; a “point of no return”, or irreversible damage, is also possible at a microcosmic level. It is, therefore, becoming increasingly important to consider possible consequences and the subsequent related therapy measures as early as possible.

Of course, not everyone who suffers from depression or eczema has been exposed to dental amalgams or wood-conditioning products, but isn’t it true that too many patients are diagnosed by us in the first place according to the saying: “Nothing can happen that isn’t allowed to happen, or what I don’t understand as a doctor, doesn’t exist”?

Therefore, here it is extremely important that medical history also covers the issue of possible existing environmental exposure and that this is subsequently reflected in the clinical diagnosis.

Illnesses with a possible link to the environment are:

• Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis

• food allergies with increased serum IgE

• tumours in the digestive tract, mouth and throat, oesophagus

• tumours in the stomach area

• tumours in the large intestine

In summary, you can also come to the conclusion that the microbiology in our gut, with all its different components, must be considered as an essential pathway for chronic diseases and that we should pay attention, in diagnosis and treatment, to a balanced, vitamin-rich, low-fat, micronutrient and fibre-enriched diet for our patients, i.e. “ill people”, but we should also explain the sense and use of this treatment to “healthy people” in the area of preventative medicine.

In this respect, special attention should be paid to harmful environmental toxins, which can end up in our bodies both through food and through the adverse effects of medical treatment.

Strict controls should also underlie the handling of medicines such as antibiotics, for as has been already explained, through this, the symbiosis of the body can suffer from substantial damage.

 

 

 
© 2017 AMT e.V. | Impressum | Kontakt | Admin

Aktuelle Mitgliederanzahl:

277

 
Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)
Umweltmedizin

Definition der Umweltmedizin:

Die Umweltmedizin umfaßt die medizinische Betreuung von Einzelpersonen mit gesundheitlichen Beschwerden oder auffälligen Untersuchungsbefunden, die von selbst oder ärztlicherseits mit Umweltfaktoren in Verbindung gebracht werden.

Mit dem Problem der zunehmenden Industrialisierung und die damit verbundene Umweltbelastung durch Giftstoffe verschiedenster Art, wird der Organismus Mensch über die verschiedensten Aufnahmewege mit unterschiedlichsten Fremdstoffen belastet. Wasser, Boden, Luft und Lebensmittel gehören zu den belastenden Stoffen ebenso wie Medikamente, Dentallegierungen oder Pflegemittel im Haushalt und für den Körper.

Dadurch bedingt rücken inzwischen umweltmedizinische und umwelthygienische Fragen immer mehr in das Blickfeld des sowohl wissenschaftlichen Interesses, aber auch die Laien und die Öffentlichkeit machen mobil, da die Erkenntnisse auf dem Gebiet der wissenschaftlichen Arbeit dazu führen, verschiedenste Giftstoffe für die Auslösung oder Unterhaltung einiger Erkrankungen verantwortlich zu machen. Beispiel: PCP und Kanzerogenität, Lindan, Diclofluanid bei Nervenschäden, Antibiotika-induzierte Darmentzündungen, Magenprobleme durch Rheumamittel, Bleibelastung und Nierenschaden, Kupferbelastung und kindliche Leberzirrhose, Rauchen und Lungenkrebs, Asbest und Lungenkrebs, Nickelallergie, Chlor und Chlorakne. Die Zunahme der allergischen Erkrankungen in den letzten Jahren ist erschreckend. Nach Untersuchungen in Baden-Würtemberg leiden hier schon 5% aller Kinder an Atopien oder Neurodermitis. Untersuchungsmaterialien sind Blut, Urin, Stuhl, Muttermilch, Nabelschnurblut, Ausatmungsluft oder Organ- und Fettgewebeproben.

Akute Belastungen lassen sich am besten in Blut und Urin nachweisen (Stunden bis Wochen z.B. bei Quecksilber), Untersuchungen von Knochen und Fett spiegeln langfristige Belastungen wider wie z.B. bei Blei und Cadmium.

Aufnahmewege für die Giftbelastungen sind die Haut und die Schleimhäute des Magen-Darm-Traktes und der Lunge.

Hierbei fällt die prozentuale Verteilung durch die riesige Oberfläche des Darmes zu Ungunsten der Haut und Lunge aus. Die Resorptionsfläche von nahezu 400 qm ermöglicht es, sehr hohe Mengen an Schadstoffen aufzunehmen und in den Organismus einzuschleusen. Hierbei kommt zunehmend unsere Ernährung ins Spiel. Die Diagnostik und Therapie muss daher auch zwingend die Immunaktivität, die normale Bakterienbesiedlung des Darmes und entsprechende Maßnahmen umfassen. Hierzu ist die Mikrobiologische Therapie bestens geeignet.

Pflanzliche Nahrungsmittel sind häufig mit endogenen Toxinen und Pestiziden belastet. Der Lactobazillen-Gehalt im Dickdarm ist entscheidend für die Ausscheidung krebserregender Substanzen im Urin. Mit Pestiziden belastete Nahrungsmittel, konservierte und stabilisierte Nahrungsprodukte können das ökologische Gleichgewicht und die physiologischen Bakterienkulturen stören, schädigen oder zerstören.

Nicht nur im Makrokosmos kann der Mensch dieses Gleichgewicht schädigen, selbst bis zu einem „Point of no return“, d.h. eine irreversible Schädigung ist auch im Mikrokosmos „Mensch“ möglich . Es wird daher zunehmend wichtig, frühzeitig an die möglichen Ursachen und die dann kausal sich anschließenden Therapiemassnahmen zu denken.

Hierbei ist natürlich nicht jeder, der über Depressionen oder Ekzeme klagt, ein Amalgamfall oder mit Holzschutzmitteln belastet, aber werden nicht zu viele Patienten von uns von vornherein psychiatrisiert nach dem Motto: „ Drum nicht sein kann, was nicht sein darf, oder wovon ich als Arzt nichts verstehe, das gibt es auch als Diagnose nicht?“

Daher ist es hier im ganz besonderen wichtig, dass die Anamnese auch die Fragen eventuell vorhandener Umweltbelastungen umfaßt und dies dann auch in der klinischen Diagnostik seinen Niederschlag findet.

Erkrankungen mit potentiellem Umweltbezug sind:

  • Morbus Crohn und Colitis ulcerosa
  • Nahrungsmittelallergien mit IgE-Erhöhung im Serum.
  • Tumoren im Verdauungstrakt, Mund und Rachenraum, Ösophagus
  • Tumoren im Magenbereich
  • Dickdarmtumoren

Zusammenfassend kann man also zu dem logischen Schluß kommen, dass die Mikroökologie unseres Darmes mit allen seinen Bestandteilen als wesentlicher Wegbereiter für chronische Krankheiten angesehen werden muß und dass wir in Diagnostik und Therapie auf eine ausgeglichene vitaminreiche, spurenelement- und ballaststoffhaltige, fettarme Ernährung bei unseren Patienten, sprich „Kranken“, achten sollten, aber auch im Bereich der Prophylaxe die „Gesunden“ über den Sinn und Nutzen einer solchen Behandlung aufklären sollten.

Hierbei sollte auch ein besonderes Augenmerk auf belastende Umwelttoxine gelegt werden, die sowohl durch Ernährung wie auch iatrogen in unseren Körper gelangen können.

Auch der Umgang mit Medikamenten wie Antibiotika sollte einer strengeren Kontrolle unterliegen, da wie vorhin erwähnt, hierdurch die Symbiose des Körpers erheblichen Schaden leiden kann.

 
© 2017 AMT e.V. | Impressum | Kontakt | Admin